Thursday, October 6, 2022
HomeblogFacts About Marijuana Ann Arbor That Will Make You Think Twice.

Facts About Marijuana Ann Arbor That Will Make You Think Twice.

Facts About Marijuana Ann Arbor That Will Make You Think Twice.

The city of Ann Arbor is currently the only municipality in the state of Michigan that allows recreational marijuana. Although this may seem like it makes a lot of sense, it also has some odd quirks. In particular, marijuana is only permitted within certain parts of town, and certain businesses can’t be located near those zones. The municipality also bans sales tax on marijuana purchases, and employees can’t be forced to undergo drug testing if they work at a dispensary or sell recreational cannabis. So, what is marijuana in Ann Arbor? Read on to find out!

How Do I Get A Medical Marijuana Card In Ann Arbor, MI?

If you want to obtain a medical marijuana card in the city of Ann Arbor, then you’ll first have to become a registered qualifier. You can do this by purchasing an application from the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, visiting the city’s clerk’s office at City Hall, or visiting one of the offices listed on their official website. You must then complete the form with your name, address, birth date, and any other information that is asked for. A physician will then have to give a written prescription for you to become a registered medical marijuana card holder.

What Are The Zones For Smoking Marijuana In Ann Arbor?

There are currently four zones in town where recreational marijuana can be smoked without legal repercussions. These zones are the Downtown District, city hall and the District of Columbia, Main Library, and Empowerment Zone 1. (which includes the south side of downtown). You can travel outside these zones during daylight hours. So long as you keep an open flame or burning ember away from anyone else. The Downtown zone is the most common zone for smoking weed in Ann Arbor because it covers most of downtown, and therefore nearly all of the retail marijuana sales will take place there.

Can I Buy Marijuana From A Dispensary In Ann Arbor?

If you want to purchase marijuana in Ann Arbor, you can purchase it from a store. There are currently 19 dispensaries in the city, most located on or near downtown. You must meet certain requirements if you wish to enter a dispensary. However, you’ll need to be at least 21 years old and show your identification card before being permitted entry. You’ll also have to bring your cannabis with you because no dispensaries permit people who aren’t customers inside their facilities. The cost of purchasing marijuana from a dispensary is around $10 per gram, depending on the products they offer when you arrive.

Where Can I Smoke My Weed In Ann Arbor?

The Downtown District is the only zone where recreational marijuana can be smoked. You are allowed to smoke weed in the area of downtown known as Depot Town, so long as it lights up a small glowing ember or something similar. Smoking cannabis within the Downtown District is illegal. It can incur a violation fine of up to $450, so it’d be best to follow this city ordinance if you’re planning to smoke regularly. It should also be noted that it is illegal for anyone under 21 years old to consume marijuana in the confines of downtown Ann Arbor, so don’t try and get away with it.

Where Can I Sell Marijuana In Ann Arbor?

As mentioned above, only the property owner can sell recreational marijuana. That means that if you want to set up a storefront on Main Street. You must demonstrate that you have permission from the city and state governments before opening a shop. Suppose you’re trying to open a dispensary or another type of cannabis business. As they have only permitted within Empowerment District 1. This rule has some exceptions, such as if a business meets specific zoning requirements, but this is extremely rare. It is also illegal to operate a marijuana dispensary within 1,000 feet of any other dispensary or school in the city.

What Is The Legal Age To Buy Marijuana In Ann Arbor?

It is illegal for anyone under the Age of 21 years old to purchase marijuana for recreational use. However, it is still legal for those aged 18-20 to borrow up to one ounce of cannabis from a friend’s private stash. It is also illegal for those under the Age of 18 years old. Or those who are underage to possess any amount of marijuana whatsoever. Anyone found guilty of this offense will be subject to the same penalties as someone caught with a joint in their possession.

Can I Sell Recreational Marijuana In Ann Arbor?

You cannot sell recreational marijuana in the city of Ann Arbor unless you have permitted to do so. The city council can only grant this if you meet certain zoning rules and restrictions. It is also illegal for anyone to act as a representative of a cannabis business if the local government hasn’t approved them. To sell retail marijuana, you must go directly through your landlord and not through go-betweens or representatives.

Grow your weed in Ann Arbor if you’re aged 21 years or older. You’ll first have to buy a grower’s license from the city and state, costing you around $200. If you’re growing marijuana plants indoors, they’ll have to kept in a locked space separate from other people’s property. You must also keep these plants away from children. As it is illegal for anyone under 21 to have marijuana products. The maximum number of plants you can grow legally is 12 per household. Or up to 3 if you live in an apartment block or condo.

What Are The Public Consumption Offenses In Ann Arbor?

The city of Ann Arbor punishes anyone who breaks its smoking laws. The first offense will cause you to lose possession of your weed and incur a $100 fine. While the second offense will see you lose any marijuana found and an additional $250 fine. If you are caught a third time You risk having all your marijuana confiscated and receiving an on-the-spot ticket which means you must appear before the district court. There is also a curfew for smoking weed in public. As it is illegal for anyone to light up between 2 am, and 6 am every single day of the year.

Conclusion

So there you have it, a comprehensive guide to marijuana use and possession laws in Ann Arbor. If you want to buy weed from a dispensary, head downtown and bring some marijuana of your own along with you. As they won’t allow you to purchase anything unless you have your own. You should also note that it is illegal for anyone under the Age Of 21 to have even small amounts of cannabis without a valid medical prescription. So steer clear of anyone who looks underage. Check out the map above for details on where to buy legal marijuana in Ann Arbor if you’re over 21 years old.

Sophia Jennifer
I'm Shophia Jennifer from united state working at social media marketing It is very graceful work and I'm very interesteing in this work.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest posts